The Department of Art at Ohio State is housed in three buildings: Hopkins Hall, Hayes Hall, and the Sherman Studio Arts Center.

Hopkins Hall faces the North Oval and is within easy walking distance of the Wexner Center for the Arts, the Fine Arts Library, and the Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum. Hopkins Hall is home to the department’s administrative offices, the Art Advising Center for undergraduates, the Program Office for Graduate Students, and classrooms and teaching labs/studios for art classes in the emphasis areas of Art and Technology, Ceramics, Painting and Drawing, Photography, and Printmaking. Graduate studios for MFA candidates in those areas are also located in Hopkins. The adjacent Hayes Hall offers additional classrooms for foundation studies. 

Hopkins & Hayes Map









The Sherman Studio Arts Center, endowed by artist and alumnus Roy Lichtensteinin in honor of former Ohio State art professor Hoyt L. Sherman, is the center of activity for students who take classes in Sculpture and Glass. Graduate students maintain studios in the building. The facility is located on West Campus, about one mile from Hopkins Hall and accessible by the free campus bus service.

Sherman Studio Art Center Map













The Ohio State University Campus map [pdf]

[pdf] - Some links on this page are to .pdf files. PDF files require the use of Adobe Acrobat Reader software to open them. If you do not have Reader, you may use the following link to Adobe to download it for free at: Adobe Acrobat Reader.