Programs of Study

In the Department of Art at Ohio State we teach undergraduate and graduate students to develop as autonomous artists through seven professional courses of study: Ceramics, Glass, Painting/ Drawing, Photography, Printmaking, Art and Technology, and Sculpture. Hopkins Hall, located in the center of campus activity, hosts areas for art and technology, ceramics, painting and drawing, photography, printmaking, and our woodshop. Additional classrooms (primarily for the foundations and beginning sculpture) are located in Hayes Hall, adjacent to Hopkins Hall. The Sherman Studio Art Center is located two miles from central campus, on west campus, and houses both glass and sculpture. The Swing Space Gallery in the South Campus Gateway is managed by the Department of Art and hosts student shows and others.
The department encourages interdisciplinary activities and the sharing of information and research. These include exhibitions, research, funded projects, exchanges and special events. Specific examples include an annual faculty group show as well as special exhibitions and lectures for faculty returning from a research leave. The faculty generously shares their creative research with the academic community and the general public.